diffraction spikes - "double" reflection on bright stars, Newtonian

Hi folks,

I am a new user of N-series astrograph, more precisely, I am a newbie user of Newtonian system at all (so far I've been imaging with refractors and cassegrains only) though I find myself already to be an experienced astro imager.

Do you know what is the exact root of this issue? I can see double reflection on diffraction pattern around bright stars. In my pre-zero light first night of testing new AG in the field, I made few tests to see how the ASA really works. I have touched collimation only slightly, only of the primary mirror. So far I did not touch secondary nor tested axial error of the focuser (I simply trust ASA :) ). I do own, already, all CatsEye tools from Jim Fly and all tools from Howie Glatter so I know it's not perfectly collimated (infinity always shows a residual error, howie shows "almost OK").

I very much hope it's caused by improper collimation and not by some other mechanical problem of my astrograph (I have both hands "left hands" so I can't fix anything myself without a visit to specialized laboratory - someone with mechanical skills).

here is the full sized image, ignore the vignetting of the window, that will be fixed today on my camera:

http://www.astro.cz/galerie/v/uzivatele/Konihlav/misc/CCD+Image+55LUMLUM.jpg.html?g2_imageViewsIndex=1

please, let me know what you think, I really need exact and precise answer and proposed solution. No time left to "try and see". I'd like to make a real first light this year.

Pavel

Hi Pavel,

Are you talking about the apparent 'splitting' of the spikes? This is due to the secondary support vanes on opposite sides of the secondary not being perfectly in line. Each vane produces a spike that runs through the bright star. When sharply focused the two spikes will be superimposed. Try an out of focus shot and you will see the spikes separate even more.