DDM60 workflow question for a portable setup

AnakChan

Question

Hi All,

Owning my DDM60 for a year now I'm still learning about it (not used it for any imaging yet, but just doing lots of "tests"). I don't have an observatory and use it as a portable setup in my backyard. Currently my setup time from carrying my gear out to my lawn, balancing, PA'ing, syncing, and all-sky modelling takes me approx 2 hrs at best. Furthermore as my OTA is a Takahashi µ250CRS and I image at native 2500mm FL with an ASI6200MM (therefore imaging at 0.31"/px unpinned or 0.62"/px binned), I'll have to use MLPT too.

I came across @ChristerS presentation in TAIC he made 5 yrs back and according to that, I could actually skip the sky AutoPoint (which would save me about 1 hr for 100 point model), and just go straight into MLPT. But according to documentation, the recommendation is to do MLPT on top of AutoPoint.

1) Can anyone please recommend a workflow for my setup?
2) Also, for a situation where I do leave my setup outside for the next evening, I do the home find position but I take it I don't have to find a star to sync (and set new homefind position)? I made a mistake of doing a star sync and I think I had to redo my entire AutoPoint model again for the 2nd night

Cheers for any advice you're able to offer,
Sean

7 answers to this question

Hi Sean,

I don't have an observatory, so I have all my gear set up on a rollabout (see picture). This saves a lot of time (and my back which needs special care!). I strongly recommend you consider doing this - I have built two of them, one for the DDM60/ASA10N, and one for my DDM85/OS RiDK setup which is far too heavy to assemble for each imaging session.

All I do is roll the set-up out of the house onto a concrete platform, align it to true north/south, and jack it off the wheels so it is firmly fixed and levelled. This takes about 5 minutes.