ASA DDM85 Premium

TimC

Question

Hi,

I have just received my ASA DDM85 Premium mount. It will carry a Keller 500mm Classical Cassegrain OTA. I have never used a bent pier before, so I am excited to see how well this system works for avoiding meridian flips. I see settings in Autoslew for setting limits: How far can you go through the meridian, minimum flip distance for east side slews......can you tell me what would be reasonable starting points for these settings??  I am in the Southern Hemishpere (Australia), so are there any settings to watch out for with respect to southern hemisphere operation? For instance, when the manual says point the OTA to the North to make a pointing map or such thing, I assume I should point South in these situations??

The mount is very impressive sitting on the amazing  bent pier. I hope we set the base plate close enough to the correct orientation to the south pole, as the amount of azimuth adjustment available on the pier itself, seems quite small. I guess I will find out soon when I do my first polar alignment routine.

Many thanks,

Tim

19 answers to this question

Hello Tim,

Check at mount flip options - stay on side. At limits "how far can ..." use 90 and increase or decrease the value after trials because this value depends on the geographic latitude. As soon as you checked stay on side the minimum flip distance has no influence any more you can leave the value as default.

best regards

Gerald

Hi Gerald,

Thanks very much. I am finding that I cannot connect to TheSkyX. I get an error 206 in TheSkyX and the mount does not connect. I am using the latest version of TheSkyX 10.2.0 (build 6409). I am using Win XP Pro SP3 and have .net 3.5 installed. I wonder if I should ask ASA to remote connect to the mount in the next day or so, as I will be out at the remote site over the next few days where the mount is....??

Best Regards,

Tim

Hi,