Is Maxim DL essential?

w0mbat

Hi,

Please make allowance that I am completely new to astrophotography and I am on a very steep learning curve. I now think I have all my hardware operating properly and I am at the stage of wanting to make a large all sky pointing model. From reading this forum I understand that the fast and easy way to do this is using Sequence and Pinpoint. This is where it gets confusing for me. There seem to be so many overlapping capabilities in software packages.

So far I have been using and learning Autoslew. I think I have a reasonable understanding of that. For  planetarium software I have so far been using C2A which seems to work well with Autoslew. As I am currently using a Canon 60Da I have been using Backyard EOS for camera control. This also works well and is very intuitive.

So to move on from here I believe that I will need to buy Maxim DL and the full version of Pinpoint and install and learn Sequence. Is this correct?  Are there alternatives? Can I just buy Pinpoint and use it with Sequence without Maxim DL? I would like some advice before I buy this expensive software.

Thank you,

Regards

Ian

Maxim is the software that will tell the mount to move around the sky. Pinpoint will plate solve each image but cannot tell the mount to move to the next location.

So, sadly, you will have to get copies of each one if you want to use Sequence.

A large pointing model is very tedious to make without Maxim and Pinpoint, but it is possible. When I started I used a DSLR and manually slewed to each star. I considered a 20 star model to be big. The problem was that it took so long to do that it was easy to make a mistake.

Eventually I got Pinpoint and a 50 star model runs through in a fraction of the time.

If you get the trial version of Pinpoint I think you get 30 days free use.  

Ian,